Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

(About time I shut up and post some photos, eh?)

Image

I took a trip to Jeju Island two weeks ago. I knew it would be a shame if I left Korea without seeing the place, but I still felt as if I’d be let down. A lot of people talk the place up, and I didn’t want to get there and realize it wasn’t as good as I’d been led to believe.

Image

I don’t know why I felt that way, but I was dead wrong. Jeju was a wonderful place. Jing and I went together, but she had to work on Monday, so I carried on alone.

Image

I must have taken over a thousand photos. I think I got a few keepers, though you can be the judge of that.

ImageImageImageImage

Image

The trip, the change of scenery, the getting out of the city was just what I needed. I felt bogged down in Anyang.

ImageOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I met an old man sitting by the riverside drinking a beer. He introduced himself and we had a good long talk. He was from Busan and said he often escaped to Jeju on “business”. His main reason for jetting though was to take a break from city life and all of its crowded emptiness. I agreed that it was good to get away from the sardine can apartments and streets packed with people trying too hard to catch eyes. We went on to talk about breeds of dogs. It turns out he’s a Jack Russell man. It was a good conversation.

ImageImageOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I’ve come back, I’ve tried to keep this man’s kindness in mind when I’m out being bludgeoned by the city life. There are lots of advantages to living in cities, but I’ll be damned if I can’t get out from under its shadow once in a while.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

