Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It was on the cold, cluttered streets of Beijing that I cut my China-teeth for the first time. That was last year. A spectacular trip it was, and my 20+ rolls of film attest to my enthusiasm for the place as well as my desire to follow what was then my vision of street photography. For those of you who haven’t seen my old China photos, I’d point you in this direction.

Image

Things have changed, albeit slightly. I feel less free, but more focused. The world in my head has shrunk a bit, as I’m feeling less adventurous. On the positive side, I feel that I’m now moving towards something. This applies mentally, professionally, and photographically.

Image

But enough about vague inner-workings. The second time around I found my self bumming around Shanghai for the first leg of my trip. I took a jaunt to Hangzhou and a jaunt to Suzhou. I’m not bi-winning, I’m bi-jaunting (apologies for lack of freshness on that, but kudos if you know what I’m referring to). I met up with my good friend Nate and we rocked it in ways both excellent and revolting.

Image

My girlfriend Jing and I then headed to Beijing for a day of sightseeing followed by a train ride to Hengshui to meet the family. We had a lovely time and I ate way too much once again. I’m still trying to lose the pounds I put on during those ten days of gluttony and sloppidation.

Image

The pictures I took are of a different variety this time. Fewer, with more posed shots. This mirrors what I said earlier as well as my approach to China. I’m not shooting everything, but I’m arriving at a closer understanding of what I am shooting. At least I hope.

Image

Anyhow, I could talk them to death, but instead I’ll just let you look at the photos.

Image

ImageOh, and why are there so few? Where are the future in-laws? Stay tuned for a not-so-lucid explanation. My next post:”The Dark Side of Film Photography”. I said “side”, not “slide”. Nyuck nyuck.

Image

